Service Award Winners

Distinguished Service Award

At the business meeting of the Southeastern Section in Knoxville, Tennessee, in April, 1989, the Section membership instituted the Section Distinguished Service Award. This award will be given by the Section to a member of the Section who has made outstanding contributions at the Section level. The Section Service Award Committee shall solicit nominations and shall select the recipient of the Section's annual Distinguished Service Award.
1990Trevor EvansEmory University
1992Billy BryantVanderbilt University
1994James WareUniversity of Tennessee
1996Marcellus WaddillWake Forest University
1997John KenellyClemson University
1998David StoneGeorgia Southern University
1999Mary F. NeffEmory University
2000Tina StraleyKennesaw State University
2001Charles CleaverThe Citadel
2002Sharon RossGeorgia Perimeter College
2003Sylvia BozemanSpelman College
2004Theresa EarlyAppalachian State University
2005W. Hugh HaynsworthCollege of Charleston
2006Stephen DavisDavidson College
2007Joel BrawleyClemson University
2008Benjamin C. KleinDavidson College
2009Walter M. PattersonLander University
2010Ray E. CollingsGeorgia Perimeter College
2011Ellen E. KirkmanWake Forest University
2012Charlotte Knotts-ZidesWofford College
2013Jim VandergriffAustin Peay State University
2014John MayerUniversity of Alabama at Birmingham
2015Jeff ClarkElon University
2016Martha AbellGeorgia Southern University
2017Virginia WatsonKennesaw State University
2018Pat HumphreyGeorgia Southern University

Meritorious Service Award

The Board of Governors of the Mathematical Association of America instituted the award of a Certificate of Meritorious Service at its meeting in Louisville, Kentucky, in January, 1984. This certificate will be awarded once every five years in each section to a member of the section who has made significant contributions to the Association at the national and/or the section level. The nomination for this award is proposed by the section and approved by the Board of Governors and is awarded at a national meeting of the Association.

This certificate is to be awarded every five years at a national meeting to a member of the Southeastern Section, beginning in 1984.
1984John D. NeffGeorgia Institute of Technology
1990Ivey C. GentryWake Forest University
1994Billy BryantVanderbilt University
1999Marcellus WaddillWake Forest University
2004John KenellyClemson University
2009David StoneGeorgia Southern
2014Tina StraleyKennesaw State University