Section Officers and Committees

Chair (2021)

Laurie Heyer
Davidson College
laheyer@davidson.edu
http://academics.davidson.edu/math/heyer/

Immediate Past-Chair (2020)

Jeff Clark
Elon University
Email
Website

Vice Chair for Two Year Colleges (2022)

Wei-Kai Lai
University of South Carolina Salkehatchie
laiw@mailbox.sc.edu

Program Vice Chair (2022)

Andy Miller
Belmont University
andrew.miller@belmont.edu

Treasurer (2020)

Tom Fitzkee
Francis Marion University
TFitzkee@FMarion.edu

Secretary (2020)

Catherine Matos
Department of Mathematics
Clayton State University
2000 Clayton State Boulevard
Morrow, GA 30260
Email: catherinematos (at) clayton (dot) edu

Section Representative to MAA Congress (2021)

Tim Chartier
Davidson College
tichartier@davidson.edu
Website

Section Lecturer (2020)

Matt Baker
Georgia Tech
Email
Website

Newsletter Editor (2021)

Jessica Williams
Converse College
Email

Student Activities Coordinator (2022)

Karen O’Hara
Department of Mathematics
High Point University
Campus Box 3430
High Point, NC 27262
Phone: 336-888-6385
Email: kohara (at) highpoint (dot) edu

Historian (2022)

Sloan Despeaux
Western Carolina University
Email: despeaux@email.wcu.edu

Webmaster (2022)

Brad Fox
Austin Peay State University
Email: foxb@apsu.edu

Directors of Section NExT_SE

Kristen Abernathy (2022)
Winthrop University
abernathyk@winthrop.edu

Zach Abernathy (2020)
Winthrop University
abernathyz@winthrop.edu

Molly Fenn
North Carolina State University
Email Website

State Directors

State Director (Alabama) (2022)

Frank Patane
Samford University
fpatane@samford.edu

State Director (Georgia) (2022)

Hua Wang
Georgia Southern University
hwang@georgiasouthern.edu

State Director (North Carolina)

Laura Steil
Mars Hill University
Email
Website

State Director (South Carolina) (2021)

Nicole Panza
Francis Marion University
Email

State Director (Tennessee) (2020)

Ben Ntatin
Austin Peay State University
ntatinb@apsu.edu

Committees

Section Teaching Award

  • Maurice Hendon (University of Georgia)
  • Stephen Robinson (Wake Forest University)
  • Valerie Miller (Georgia State University)
  • All the State Directors

Section Service Award

  • Martha Abell (Georgia Southern University)
  • Virginia Watson (Kennesaw State University)
  • Pat Humphrey (Georgia Southern University)
  • Laurie Dishman (Cumberland University)
  • Tim Goldberg (Lenoir-Rhyne University)
  • John Harris (Furman University)
  • Bernie Mullins (Birmingham Southern College)

Nominations

Site Selection

  • John Mayer (University of Alabama at Birmingham)
  • Curtis Herink (Mercer University)
  • Meredith Burr (Clemson University)