Section Officers and Committees

Chair (2019)

Jeff Clark
Elon University
Email
Website

Chair-Elect (2019)

Laurie Heyer
Davidson College
laheyer@davidson.edu
http://academics.davidson.edu/math/heyer/

Vice Chair for Two Year Colleges (2019)

Wei-Kai Lai
University of South Carolina Salkehatchie
laiw@mailbox.sc.edu

Program Vice Chair (2019)

Hope McIlwain
Mercer University
mcilwain_mh@mercer.edu

Treasurer (2020)

Tom Fitzkee
Francis Marion University
TFitzkee@FMarion.edu

Secretary (2020)

Catherine Matos
Department of Mathematics
Clayton State University
2000 Clayton State Boulevard
Morrow, GA 30260
Email: catherinematos (at) clayton (dot) edu

Section Representative to MAA Congress (2021)

Tim Chartier
Davidson College
tichartier@davidson.edu
Website

Section Lecturer (2019)

Kristen Mazur
Elon University
Email
Website

Newsletter Editor (2021)

Jessica Williams
Converse College
Email

Student Activities Coordinator (2019)

Karen O’Hara
Department of Mathematics
High Point University
Campus Box 3430
High Point, NC 27262
Phone: 336-888-6385
Email: kohara (at) highpoint (dot) edu

Historian (2019)

Virginia Watson
Department of Mathematics
Kennesaw State University
1000 Chastain Road
Kennesaw, GA 30144-5591
Phone: 770-423-6459
Email: vwatson (at) kennesaw (dot) edu

Webmaster (2019)

Jim Gleason
Department of Mathematics
The University of Alabama
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0350
Phone: 205-348-5293
Email: jgleason@ua.edu

Directors of Section NExT_SE

Kristen Abernathy (2019)
Winthrop University
abernathyk@winthrop.edu

Zach Abernathy (2020)
Winthrop University
abernathyz@winthrop.edu

Molly Fenn
North Carolina State University
Email Website

State Directors

State Director (Alabama) (2019)

Jerome Goddard
Auburn University, Montgomery
jgoddard@aum.edu

State Director (Georgia) (2019)

Benjamin Wescoatt
Valdosta State University
bmwescoatt@valdosta.edu

State Director (North Carolina)

Laura Steil
Mars Hill University
Email
Website

State Director (South Carolina) (2021)

Nicole Panza
Francis Marion University
Email

State Director (Tennessee) (2020)

Ben Ntatin
Austin Peay State University
ntatinb@apsu.edu

Committees

Section Teaching Award

  • Maurice Hendon (University of Georgia)
  • Stephen Robinson (Wake Forest University)
  • Valerie Miller (Georgia State University)
  • All the State Directors

Section Service Award

  • Martha Abell (Georgia Southern University)
  • Virginia Watson (Kennesaw State University)
  • Pat Humphrey (Georgia Southern University)
  • Laurie Dishman (Cumberland University)
  • Tim Goldberg (Lenoir-Rhyne University)
  • John Harris (Furman University)
  • Bernie Mullins (Birmingham Southern College)

Nominations

Site Selection

  • John Mayer (University of Alabama at Birmingham)
  • Curtis Herink (Mercer University)
  • Meredith Burr (Clemson University)